How to Get Your Coupon Collection Started

I must admit that I used to think using coupons was a waste of time. I thought it took too much time for too little returns. I was so wrong! Once you have a good collection of well-organized coupons, you will not believe the amount of money that you can save! I know I was shocked at how much money I was able to save! I think that you will be shocked as well!

Here are some steps for being a productive coupon user:

  1. Purchase multiple Sunday newspapers every week. I usually purchase 3-4. You might think that this is excessive, but, trust me, you will make your money back in a short period of time. The reason for purchasing this many papers is to maximize your ability to take advantage of a deal as many times as possible. Some people purchase more than 3-4 papers a week, and you might decide to do that as well. I have found that 3-4 papers is a nice, manageable amount of coupons.
  2. Decide how you would like to organize your coupons. There are many ways to organize coupons, and you will have to decide what works best for you. I have tried several methods, and I will tell you what I have found to be most effective. I purchased 2 flexible plastic recipe/coupon holders. Each holder is a different color and is small enough to fit in my purse and/or diaper bag. I put alphabetized coupons for food items in one holder and coupons for non-food items in the other. BetterBudgeting has other great ideas for coupon organization.
    My coupon organizers

    My coupon organizers

    Alphabitized slots

    Alphabetized slots

  3. Clip/organize coupons regularly. Once you get going with your coupon collection, things can get out of hand quick if you don’t stay organized! You want it to be as easy as possible to locate a coupon when you hear about a good deal.
  4. Keep your eyes open for other coupons. Check online for internet printable coupons. A good place to find online coupons is here. I often find coupon booklets at my grocery store (they are usually located near the pharmacy). These are just a few places that you could find extra coupons.

And that’s pretty much it! The key is organization and being diligent in your search for coupons. After you have done all of these things, you will be ready to begin maximizing your savings and minimizing your spending.

My next post will be “So I have all these coupons…now what?”

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “How to Get Your Coupon Collection Started

  1. Sherri McQuillan

    Hi, Martha!
    Great ideas on couponing! I’ve recently started doing it, and I’ve found a great source; don’t know if you’ve heard of it. It’s http://www.thecouponclippers.com. They do charge a small handling fee, but they have nationwide resources of different coupons, and I more than make up for it in the savings. If you haven’t checked them out, or if you have, I’d be interested in what you think. Thanks!

  2. mjslp

    That is a really neat site! I think that I have heard of it before, but I have never gone to their site. It looks like it has a lot of the same coupons that are in the Sunday inserts, but that would be a great way to get additional coupons if you found a really great deal on a particular item!

  3. Hi! I’m so glad you posted about your blog on pleonast so I could find you. I have tried many organization techniques as well. My former method was clipping everything and organizing them in envelopes (which I stored in my coupon sorter) according to type, like “freezer,” “cereal,” “hair care,” etc.

    Now what I do is just clip the grocery coupons and leave the non-grocery items in the insert which I then file by brand and date is came out (like, SS 3/8/09). I usually use my grocery coupons on my weekly shopping trip, but I save the non-grocery coupons for the big deals out there, whenever they may be.

    I like your method of sorting them by brand name. That is probably better than by type of coupon because I’m usually looking for a specific coupon in my stash and could find it a lot easier if it were in an alphabetical organizational method.

    I do usually get 2 newspapers by people giving them to me and sometimes I buy a 3rd.

    • mjslp

      Thanks for your comment! I have definitely found that it is easier to organize alphabetically. It is more concrete, and you know the coupon will only be in one place. In some ways, it requires less thinking to locate the coupon that you need:)

  4. Great post for getting started with coupons! I, like you, didn’t used to see the value in using coupons, but now I’m hooked!!

Leave a Reply

