Publix Trip – Saved 58%

Today I had quite an interesting trip to Publix! I got some pretty good deals on several items, but the interesting part came when I went to check out. There are several cashiers at my Publix that appreciate couponing. These cashiers are very friendly and get excited to see how much you saved! I am usually on the lookout for these cashiers, and I will get in their line even if it is longer than the others. Well, today I was in a huge hurry and I wasn’t thinking, and I got in a unfamiliar cashier’s line. I knew that I was in trouble when she didn’t even say hello until she had rung up 5 or 6 items (which is very unusual for Publix cashiers!). She didn’t seem like she was in a good mood, but we still exchanged pleasantries and I tried to be extra polite. When she finished ringing up all of my items, I handed her my coupons (which made her less than enthused). She silently scanned all of the coupons until she got to my buy 1 Kotex pads, get one Kotex tampons free Publix coupon. (She had already scanned my manufacturer coupon for the pads and my manufacturer coupon for the tampons – I had paired manufacturer coupons with a Publix coupon which is allowed according to Publix’s coupon policy). I will spare you the dialogue, but the cashier proceeded to very rudely and very loudly tell me that she was not going to take off any extra money for an item that was already free. Twice I calmly explained to her that their coupon policy allows you to use both types of coupons together and that I had done similar transactions before. She continued to be extremely rude and loud (imagine my joy to be having such a loud and ridiculous conversation about tampons in the middle of a busy store), so I decided it wasn’t worth the battle and took my coupon back.

I cannot tell you how irritated I was when I left! I was completely nice to this lady, and for no reason at all she decides to talk to me like I am an idiot! I thought about speaking to the manager before I left the store, but I knew that I was too upset to communicate appropriately right then, so I decided to call them later in the evening. After I told my husband what had happened, he was irritated about the situation as well, and he ended up being the one to call. The manager apologized and said that we could bring the coupon back to the store for a refund (the coupon wasn’t the real issue for me; it was the way that the cashier treated me) and she was also going to speak with the cashier. Now that the situation is resolved, I feel better about the whole thing, I just could not believe how rude this lady was…I can’t even imagine what she would have been like if I had been rude back to her! Anyways, lesson learned…always look for the friendly cashiers!!!

And now, here is what I bought today (chicken and vitamin water not pictured):
img00217-publix-4-13-09

Bounty paper towel roll @ $2.15
Used $1.00/1 Target coupon
Used $0.25/1 (doubled) MC
Total = $0.65

Publix milk @ $2.89

2 Vitamin Water @ $2.98 (I thought these were B1G1, but they were B2G1, so I messed up on this one)
Used $1.00/1 MC
Used $0.50/1 (doubled) MC
Total = $0.98 ($0.49 each)

Kotex security tampons @ $3.53
Used $0.75/1 MC
Used Buy 1 Kotex pads, Get 1 Kotex tampons free Publix coupon
Total = $0.75 overage

4 Hunt’s canned tomatoes @ $2.78 (B1G1)
Used $1.00/4 MC
Total = $1.78 ($0.45 each)

4 Stonyfield yogurt @ $2.40 (on sale 10 for $6.00)
Used $1.00/4 MC (found this in an organic coupon booklet located next to the weekly sale paper at the front of the store)
Total = $1.40 ($0.35 each)

1 French’s mustard @ $1.29
Used $0.50/1 MC (doubled)
Total = $0.29

Boneless chicken breasts @ $5.96 (on sale for $1.99 lb)

2 Ken’s marinades @ $2.79 (B1G1)
Used 2 $0.50/1 MC (doubled)
Total = $0.79 ($0.40 each)

3 boxes Cheerios @ $6.44 (B1G1)
Used $1.00/1 Target coupon
Used $1.00/3 MC
Total = $4.44 ($1.48 each)

2 Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Crunch @ $3.99 (B1G1)
Used 2 $1.00/1 MC
Total = $1.99 ($0.99 and $1.00 each)

1 Kotex pads @ $3.45
Used $1.00/1 MC
Total = $2.45

1 Sargento shredded mozzarella cheese @ $1.60 (B1G1)

1 Arnold wheat bread @ $1.85 (B1G1)
Used $1.00/1 MC from February All You
Total = $0.85

2 1/8 watermelons @ $1.99 (on sale $0.59 lb)

Bananas @ $1.04

Clorox bleach @ $0.01 (PENNY ITEM)

2 Ortega diced chilies @ $2.58
Used $1.00/2 MC from May All You
Total = $1.58 (I bought these for the Disney rebate that I talked about here)

Total before coupons and sales: $83.87
Total after coupons and sales: $34.95…I saved 58%!

What deals did you find at Publix this week? Let me know…I’d love to hear from you!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Publix Trip – Saved 58%

  1. melissa

    It sounds like the same cashier I had difficulty with about a week ago. I think she maybe working at the wrong place. Publix always prides themselves on being friendly and customer relations.

    I now avoid her line even if their is no body in it.

    I hate you had that problem because you are always nice to everybody.

    Melissa

  2. mjslp

    I will definitely be avoiding her in the future!

Leave a Reply

